Christopher Mathews Receives Crisp County Center Student of Excellence Honor

October 26, 2018
Portrait of a man
Christopher Mathews was named the Student of Excellence - October 2018 for SGTC's Crisp County Center.

South Georgia Technical College (SGTC) student Christopher Mathews of Vienna was recently named October’s Student of Excellence on the college’s Crisp County Center campus.

Mathews, a computer information systems (CIS) student, and four other students from various programs were recognized for their hard-work, work ethic and other positive attributes at the ceremony, which was recently held in the campus’ LaPorte Auditorium. Classmates, faculty members, staff members and family members gathered together to hear each of the nominees’ stories.

Twice during the semester, instructors in different program areas on the Cordele campus nominate one student from their program who has exhibited high standards academically, socially and professionally.  CIS instructor Randy Green nominated Mathews for the award, and a committee of SGTC staff members used a point system to declare him the winner. Points are awarded for GPA, work ethics, involvement in student organizations and other factors.

After being announced as the award recipient by Julie Partain, SGTC Dean of Enrollment Management, Mathews was presented with a $50 check, an engraved personal plaque, a congratulatory letter from SGTC President Dr. John Watford and a “Student of Excellence” t-shirt.  His name was also engraved on a perpetual plaque that is displayed in the front lobby of the Crisp County Center.

The nominees from the other programs included: Nicole Embry of Pitts, accounting; Katherine Murphy of Ashburn, business technology; Crandall Richard of Cordele, early childhood care and education; and Holly Hudson of Cordele, marketing management.

Other nominating instructors included: Karen Bloodworth, Teresa Jolly and Lisa Penton.

Four people stand behind five seated people.

Seated from left to right a Student of Excellence nominees: Nicole Embry, accounting; Katherine Murphy, business technology; Christopher Mathews, computer information systems; Crandall Richard, early childhood care and education; and Holly Hudson, marketing management. Standing from left to right are nominating instructors Karen Bloodworth, Teresa Jolly, Randy Greene and Lisa Penton.