Dakota Hall awarded SGTC Crisp County Center’s Student of Excellence honor for month of October

October 9, 2017
Student of Excellence recipient Dakota Hall poses for a picture holding his plaque in front of him.
Dakota Hall of Cordele named October 2017 Student of Excellence for the SGTC Crisp County Center campus.

Dakota Hall of Cordele, a Computer Information Systems Degree student, was the recipient of the October Student of Excellence Award for the Crisp County Center of South Georgia Technical College. This award recognizes an outstanding student from select program areas at the school.

Program instructors nominate one student from their programs who has exhibited high standards academically, socially, and professionally. The student who receives this honor has proven that he or she realizes what hard work is and has made a decision and sincere commitment to excellence.

Hall was presented a $50 check, an engraved personal plaque, a congratulatory letter from SGTC President Dr. John Watford, and a “Student of Excellence” t-shirt.  Hall’s name was also engraved on a perpetual plaque that is displayed in the front lobby of the Crisp County Center. A Student of Excellence Banner is hung in the program area until next month’s ceremony at which time the banner will be moved.

The nominees from the other programs included: Desiray Kenney of Cordele, Accounting; Callie Collier of Rochelle, Business Technology Degree; Joshua Bryan of Cordele, Criminal Justice; Jessica McSwain of Pitts, Early Childhood Care and Education; and Alexandra M. Joiner of Cordele, Marketing Management Degree. Each nominee received a certificate and a “Student of Excellence” t-shirt.

Immediately following the program, all guests were invited to attend the Student of Excellence Reception hosted by the Culinary Arts Program.


Student of Excellence nominees sit in chairs in front of their nominating instructors. Seated from left to right are: Desiray Kenney, Callie Collier, Dakota Hall, and Alexandra Joiner. Standing left to right: Teresa Jolly, Karen Bloodworth, Randy Greene and Lisa Penton.

Seated from left to right: SGTC Crisp County Center campus Student of Excellence nominees Desiray C. Kenney, Callie Collier, Dakota Hall and Alexandra M. Joiner. Joshua Bryan and Jessie McSwain are not pictured. Standing left to right: nominating instructors Teresa Jolly, Karen Bloodworth, Randy Greene and Lisa Penton.