Evelyn Castleberry Receives SGTC Student of Excellence Honor

September 28, 2018
A woman holds a plaque.
SGTC Crisp County Center student Evelyn Castleberry was selected as the September Student of Excellence.

South Georgia Technical College (SGTC) student Evelyn Castleberry of Sylvester was recently named September’s Student of Excellence on the college’s Crisp County Center campus.

Castleberry, a medical assisting student, and six other students from various programs were recognized for their hard-work, work ethic and other positive attributes at the ceremony, which was recently held in the campus’ LaPorte Auditorium. Classmates, faculty members, staff members and family members gathered together to hear each of the nominees’ stories.

Twice during the semester, instructors in different program areas on the Cordele campus nominate one student from their program who has exhibited high standards academically, socially and professionally.  Medical assisting instructor Vicki Gilbert nominated Castleberry for the award, and a committee of SGTC staff members used a point system to declare her the winner. Points are awarded for GPA, work ethics, involvement in student organizations and other factors.

After being announced as the award recipient by Julie Partain, SGTC Dean of Enrollment Management, Castleberry was presented with a $50 check, an engraved personal plaque, a congratulatory letter from SGTC President Dr. John Watford and a “Student of Excellence” t-shirt.  Her name was also engraved on a perpetual plaque that is displayed in the front lobby of the Crisp County Center.  A Student of Excellence Banner will also hang in her program area until the next ceremony at which time the banner will be moved.

The nominees from the other programs included: Casadeyoun Daniels of Cordele, air conditioning technology; Dianne Lawson of Cordele, culinary arts; Lanorris Gary of Byromville, electrical systems technology; Justin Smith of Vienna, electronics; Erica Smith of Cordele, practical nursing; Dusty Pressley of Leesburg, welding and joining technology.

Other nominating instructors included: Mike Enfinger, air conditioning technology and electrical systems technology; Hunter Little, culinary arts; Deryk Stoops, electronics; Cathy Freeman, practical nursing; and Brenda Butler, welding and joining technology.

A group of 13 people gather together. Seven people sit in chairs in front of 6 people.

Seated from left to right a Student of Excellence nominees: Dianne Lawson, culinary arts; Casadeyoun Daniels, air conditioning technology; Lanorris Gary, electrical systems technology; Justin Smith, electronics technology; Evelyn Castleberry, medical assisting; Erica Smith, practical nursing; and Dusty Pressley, welding and joining technology.
Standing from left to right are nominating instructors: Hunter Little, culinary arts; Mike Enfinger, air conditioning technology and electrical systems technology; Deryk Stoops, electronics technology; Vicki Gilbert, medical assisting; Cathy Freeman, practical nursing; and Tommy Skinner, welding and joining technology.