Itsel Mazariago Martinez Awarded SGTC Student of Excellence Honors

September 21, 2020
Student of Excellence winner Itsel Mazariago Martinez and other nominees.

South Georgia Technical College (SGTC) recently recognized Itsel Mazariago Martinez of Americus, an Electronics student, as the overall Student of Excellence on the Americus campus. She was nominated for the award by SGTC Electronics Instructor Mike Collins.

For the month of September, SGTC recognized students nominated by their instructors in the industrial technology programs. Honorees included James McDaniel of Plains, Drafting, nominated by Kristie Cook; Seth Bowden of Gray, Electrical Systems, nominated by Tyler Wells; Phillip Tumlinson of Box Springs, Industrial Systems, nominated by Patrick Owen; Wayne Cox of Ideal, Precision Machining, nominated by Chad Brown; and Tyler Hunnewell of Brunswick, Welding, nominated by Ted Eschmann.

In nominating Mazariago Martinez, Collins said “Itsel is an outstanding student. She works hard and shows great dedication to her studies.”

Electronics student Itsel Mazariago Martinez with her nominating instructor Mike Collins.
Electronics student Itsel Mazariago Martinez with her nominating instructor Mike Collins.

Upon accepting the award, Mazariago Martinez thanked Collins and said “I’m excited to be chosen as the SGTC Student of Excellence. It’s an honor and motivates me to continue learning.”

Each month, students from certain divisions selected for that month are nominated for the Student of Excellence award by their instructors. The Student of Excellence is selected based on a number of criteria, including grades, work ethics, participation in clubs and organizations, and amount of program completion.

As the winner, Mazariago Martinez was awarded with a plaque of recognition, a personal letter of recommendation from SGTC President Dr. John Watford and a $50 check for her accomplishments. Additionally, her name will be displayed on SGTC’s digital marquee as well as inscribed on a plaque in Hicks Hall among previous Student of Excellence winners. Each nominee was awarded with a nomination certificate and an exclusive student of excellence t-shirt.