Jets Basketball


Seated L-R #4 Will Johnston, #5 Kallin Fonseca, #10 Marvin McGhee, #1 Malik Battle   Standing L-R Head Coach Chris Ballauer, #2 Justice Hayes, #3 Jalen Reynolds, #20 Nathan Wilson, #11 Matija Milivojevic, #12 Bryce Turner, Assistant Coach Jaren Harris 

South Georgia Technical College was the first technical college in the Technical College System of Georgia to offer intercollegiate athletics.  South Georgia Technical College is a Division I member of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) and the Georgia Collegiate Athletic Association (GCAA).  The college offers both men’s and women’s intercollegiate basketball programs.  The nickname for the athletics teams are Jets and Lady Jets.  The mascot is ACE.


The men’s basketball program was restarted in 2001 under President Jon Johnson.  Chris Wade was the first head coach for the Jets when the program was restarted.  South Georgia Tech had fielded men’s basketball teams in the late 1950’s up until the 1970’s.  During that era the team was known as the Technics and coached by Herbert Norris.

The Jets and the Lady Jets programs are both nationally recognized.  The men’s team advanced to the National Tournament for the first time in 2009 and returned again in 2014 under the leadership of Coach Steven Wright where the Jets finished in the Elite Eight both times. After an eight year absence, Coach Chris Ballauer led the Jets to a 2022 appearance.

South Georgia Technical College has had 15 Lady Jets players and 6 Jets named to the NJCAA All-American status since 2001. The six Jets to earn the NJCAA All-American honors include:  Marvin McGhee III (2021 – 2022); Jalen Reynolds (2020 – 2021); Anthony “Duke” Ethridge (2013 – 2014); Jae Crowder (2008 – 2009); “J.Q.” Jonqueveilin Turpin (2006 – 2007); and Wayne Williams (2004 – 2005).

Chris Ballauer is the Jets head coach and Jaren Harris is the Jets assistant coach.