Janet Siders recognized for service as Chair to SGTC Board of Directors

August 18, 2017
Dr. John Watford and Janet Siders posing for picture
SGTC President Dr. John Watford (left) is shown above presenting outgoing SGTC Board of Directors Chair Janet Siders (right) with a token of appreciation for her service as Chair of the Board for the 2016 – 2017 year.

South Georgia Technical College Board of Directors Chairman Janet Siders of Americus was recognized for her service with an appreciation award at the August South Georgia Technical College Board of Directors meeting. She served as Chair of the organization for fiscal year 2017 and will remain active on the board even after stepping down from her one-year of service as the chair.
Richard McCorkle of Marion County was nominated by an officer selection committee to serve as Chair through June 30, 2018. Jake Everett of Webster County was named Vice-Chair for the new year.
South Georgia Technical College President Dr. John Watford commended Siders for her service as the Board chairman and then commended McCorkle and Everett on their nomination and selection as the new Chair and Vice-Chair for the upcoming year.
“On behalf of the Board and everyone at South Georgia Technical College, I would like to thank these individuals for their dedication and willingness to serve in leadership roles on the Board of Directors of South Georgia Technical College,” said President Watford.
The local Board of Directors of individual colleges were created by Georgia State Statute to assist the Technical College System of Georgia State Board in carrying out its mission. The primary purpose of the local board and its members is to: 1.) advise on program direction via their personal subject matter expertise and awareness of area business needs for program decisions and priorities; serve as a check and balance for the development and implementation of college goals and objectives as well as operations policies and procedures; and 3.) advocate within the community and in the state legislature on issues of importance in support of the technical college system and Georgia’s workforce development efforts.
The board is made up of community leaders representing the SGTC service delivery area, which includes Sumter, Schley, Crisp, Macon, Marion and Webster counties.
The other members of the SGTC Board of Directors include: George Bryce and James E. Morris of Americus, and Jimmy Davis from Macon County.