SGTC Cordele Campus Inducts 20 New Members into Honor Society

April 25, 2018
Twenty individuals stand in two rows, one behind the other, behind a table that reads "National Technical Honor Society." They each hold certificates.
From left to right on the back row are new NTHS inductees Corbin Stinehelfer, Justin Smith, Caleb Radle, Noah McCleskey, Christopher Mathews, Desiray Kenney, Logan Harris and Jamile Curry. From left to right on the front row are Nicole Turner, Kimberly Trejo, Alexandra Joiner, Carolyn Luther, Samantha Campbell and Melinda Allen.

South Georgia Technical College’s Crisp County Center chapter of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) recently inducted 20 new members into the organization which recognizes students’ outstanding academic achievement. The induction ceremony was held in the LaPorte Auditorium of the Crisp County Center campus in Cordele.

The 20 students included Melinda Allen of Ashburn, business technology; Callie Collier of Rochelle, business technology; David Ethridge of Cordele, computer information systems; Logan Harris of Cordele, computer information systems; Alexandra Joiner of Cordele, marketing management; Mark Manders of Cordele, computer information systems; Noah McCleskey of Pinehurst, welding; Caleb Radle of Vienna, welding; Corbin Stinehelfer of Cordele, welding; Nicole Turner of Vienna, business technology; Demia Bryant of Cordele, medical assisting; Samantha Campbell of Cordele, computer information systems; Jamile Curry of Warwick, welding; Desiray Kenney of Cordele, accounting; Patrick Lowery of Pinehurst, electronics; Carolyn Luther of Abbeville, early childhood education; Christopher Mathews of Vienna, computer information systems; Justin Smith of Vienna, electronics; Kimberly Trejo of Cordele, medical assisting; and Brett Wade of Cordele, computer information systems.

In addition to the traditional members, NTHS advisor Kari Bodrey named Vicki Haugabrook-Hawkins as an honorary NTHS member.

Haugabrook-Hawkins is a former early childhood education student from SGTC who went on to continue her studies at Valdosta State University, but was named the honorary membership based on her courage and activism in domestic violence awareness. As a survivor of a violent domestic abuse attack, she has shared her story with SGTC students and continues to serve as an activist in the community regarding the topic.

Additionally, NTHS inductee Desiray Kenney was presented with a $1,200 scholarship to continue her education from the Cordele Crisp Community League. Mandy Mackey, president of the Cordele Crisp Community League, presented Kenney with the check.

Following the presentations, eight inductees participated in a candle lighting ceremony, which represents the eight points of NTHS’s mission: knowledge, skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership. Each new member was then presented with a certificate, and together they recited the NTHS Pledge of Membership, which was led by Christian Powell, NTHS President and state officer.

The National Technical Honor Society honors the achievements of students within workforce education, provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive workforce. For more information, contact Kari Bodrey at 229-271-4051 or; Katrice Taylor at 229.271.4068 or; visit


Photo gallery: NTHS Crisp County Chapter Inducts 20 New Members