SGTC Cordele Campus Names Student of Excellence for February 2019

February 26, 2019
A woman stands against a wall holding a small plaque
Searra Morehead was named the February 2019 Student of Excellence for South Georgia Technical College’s Cordele campus.

South Georgia Technical College’s (SGTC) Cordele campus named Searra Morehead the February Student of Excellence recently at a ceremony for the seven nominees.

Morehead, a medical assisting student, was nominated for the award by her instructor, Carol Cowan.

“Searra is a great student with attention to detail,” Cowan said. “When she graduates from South Georgia Technical College, any employer would be lucky to have her, and I would be proud of her to represent the college.”

After introductions and short speeches from the other nominees and their nominating instructors, the Rochelle resident accepted her commemorative plaque and a $50 check from SGTC dean of enrollment management Julie Partain.

“I want to thank my family and my classmates for their support, and Mrs. Cowan for thinking highly enough of me to nominate me. The work isn’t easy, but you just have to stay focused,” Morehead said.

Twice during the semester, instructors in different program areas on the Cordele campus nominate one student from their program who has exhibited high standards academically, socially and professionally. After nominations are submitted, a committee of SGTC staff members use a point system to determine the winner. Points are awarded for GPA, work ethics, involvement in student organizations and other factors.

In addition to the plaque and the monetary reward for winning, Morehead also received a congratulatory letter from SGTC president Dr. John Watford and a “Student of Excellence” t-shirt.  Her name was also engraved on a perpetual plaque that is displayed in the front lobby of the Crisp County Center.

The nominees from the other programs included: Brandon Thompson of Cordele, air conditioning technology; dual enrollment student Justin Story of Leesburg, electrical systems technology; Teila McMillan of Cordele, practical nursing; John Herzog of Cordele, welding and joining technology; Lakeetha Dawson of Cordele, culinary arts; and Kierion Mumphrey of Warner Robins, electronics technology.

Other nominating instructors included: Hunter Little, culinary arts; Mike Enfinger, air conditioning technology and electrical systems technology; Cathy Freeman, practical nursing; Brad Aldridge, welding and joining technology; and D. W. Persall, electronics technology.

Five people sit in chairs, while six people stand behind them
Seated from left to right are student of excellence nominees: Brandon Thompson, Justin Story, Searra Morehead (winner), Teila McMillan, and John Herzon. (Lakeetha Dawson and Kierion Mumphrey not pictured.) Standing from left to right are nominating instructors Hunter Little, Mike Enfinger, Carol Cowan, Cathy Freeman, Brad Aldridge and D. W. Persall.