SGTC’s Crisp County Honor Society Welcomes 23 New Members

April 24, 2019
16 people stand with certificates.
Sixteen of the 23 new National Technical Honor Society members of South Georgia Technical College's Crisp County Center chapter stand with their membership certificates.

South Georgia Technical College’s Crisp County Center chapter of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) recently inducted 23 new members into the organization which recognizes students’ outstanding academic achievement. The induction ceremony was held in the LaPorte Auditorium of the Crisp County Center campus in Cordele.

The 23 students included Kennedy Allen of Vienna, business technology; Darica Blunt of Cordele, practical nursing; Jonathan Bowen of Pinehurst, welding; Antonio Brinson of Cordele, business technology; Artavia Bryant of Cordele, welding; Taylor Bullock of Arabi, practical nursing; Evelyn Castleberry of Sylvester, medical assisting; Castil’vicia Evans of Cordele, practical nursing; Hunter Farmer of Vienna, computer information systems; MarKayla Henderson of Cordele, criminal justice; Tiyama Holt of Cordele, marketing management; Nathan Hoops of Cordele, welding; Michael Keen of Cordele, computer information systems; Rhonda Gentry of Warwick, business technology; Leslie Maxwell of Americus, marketing management; Katherine Murphy of Ashburn, business technology; Garrett Pfabe of Rochelle, computer information systems; Dusty Pressley of Leesburg, welding; Blake Rigsby of Cordele, computer information systems; Stevie Sanders of Cordele, welding; Gregory Simpkins of Cordele, computer information systems; Paul Vees of Cordele, computer information systems; and Dennis Wilson of Warwick, welding.

Of the 23 new members, two stand out – MarKayla Henderson and Dusty Pressley are still in high school. They attend classes through the Dual Enrollment program and have exceeded in their classes, earning them an invitation to join the prestigious honor society. 

In addition to the traditional members, NTHS advisor Kari Bodrey named Mrs. Rosie Watkins as an honorary NTHS member.

Watkins is a social entrepreneur in the Crisp County community and a supporter of the SGTC’s Crisp County chapter of the National Technical Honor Society. In 1997, she founded the Family Development Task Force, which provides training and support to parents who have children enrolled in elementary and secondary schools. Under the task force umbrella, she implemented the Family Engagement Networking Team Developmental Math Project – a program which connects members of the Crisp County High School Beta Club with students in third through fifth grades and their family members to help them improve their math and other life skills.

The NTHS and Watkins often team together to help improve the lives of those in Crisp County, and as a result, chose Watkins as this semester’s honorary NTHS member. She received an honorary certificate for her selection.

Following the presentations, eight inductees participated in a candle lighting ceremony, which represents the eight points of NTHS’s mission: knowledge, skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership.

Each new member was then presented with a certificate by NTHS president and State Office, Christopher Mathews, and together they recited the NTHS Pledge of Membership – led by Nicole Embry.

Combined with the Americus campus, South Georgia Tech’s National Technical Honor Society chapters inducted 48 students this semester. 

The National Technical Honor Society honors the achievements of students within workforce education, provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive workforce. For more information, contact Kari Bodrey at 229-271-4051 or; Katrice Taylor at 229.271.4068 or; visit